Need Help With Favorites

Hello all,
So I am new to Javascript and working with APIs as well. I was given a code challenge where I have to display 8 random images from TheCatAPI in a grid format, and then have a ‘favorite’ button that when clicked will save the specific image for later. This is just a demo so to speak so a lot of functionality needed for other projects isn’t required here.

I have the images able to be displayed but I am having trouble getting the favorites to work. Was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction. I feel like I’m getting closer to the answer but I keep getting a bunch of different errors and now I am just lost and confused again. I can’t post images so I am going to paste my code as best as possible. So far what I am trying to do is POST the selected image to the favorites and also add that image to an array and save the array on local storage to use it later.

I am posting the function I am using to try and save the favorite images. Keep in mind that I have no data saved on my actual computer or files, all data is coming just from the api on the web. I also have the ID of the favorite button set to be the same as the ID of the image that favorite button is currently assigned to.

JavaScript Function

`function addFavPhoto() {
   main.onclick = function (event) {
       event.preventDefault();

const element = event.target;

if (element.nodeName === 'BUTTON') {
        console.log("Image Added to Favorites!")
       //Grab ID from specific photo
       let data = JSON.stringify({
        "image_id": element.id,
      });

let xhr = new XMLHttpRequest();

xhr.addEventListener("readystatechange", function () {
        if (this.readyState === this.DONE) {
          console.log(this.responseText);
        }
      });

xhr.open("POST", "https://api.thecatapi.com/v1/favourites");
      xhr.setRequestHeader("content-type", "application/json");
      xhr.setRequestHeader("x-api-key", "906f9f50-3b14-4630-a89a-a0421d1e5317");